Top Red Lipsticks

Hello again!

For today’s post, I thought I should share my favorite red lipsticks because… why not?

1. Mac Ruby Woo lipstick (Retro Matte)

If you are not too familiar, there are 3 main types of red lipsticks.  Reds with blue undertones, reds with orange undertones and finally, a true red with a balance of both of these cool, and warm undertones.  Ruby Woo is a true bright red lipstick, which is why I love it.  It is a very matte, non drying lipstick.  My lips get really dry and it almost conceals my dry lips instead of accentuating them.  It lasts for ages, specially if you layer it on top of a red lip liner.  I usually pair all my red lipsticks with mac cherry lip liner.  This has been my favorite for a long time until I came across this next one.

2.Sephora cream lip stain in #01:

If you were to put on Ruby Woo and turn up the saturation a little bit, you would get this lip color.  It is more bright, more matte and more flattering on the lips.  It is also easier to apply because it has a watery consistency at first before it dries matte.  It also more affordable ($14 if I am remember correctly, Ruby Woo is just over $20).

3.Mac Russian Red (Matte lipstick)

This is a classic red.  It is deeper than Ruby Woo and it has some blue undertones to it.  It is also not as matte and not as bright.  It lasts a bit less than Ruby Woo and it is more creamy in consistency.

 

FullSizeRender_2
Ruby Woo, Russian Red

 

 

D U P E!

Maybelline matte lipstick in “Siren in Scarlet” is an exact dupe of mac Ruby Woo in color.  It is, however, creamier and more comfortable on the lips, which doesn’t make it last as long as the mac lipstick.  It also very comparable to Sephora’s lip cream.  I swatched it next to both of these lipsticks so you can easily compare them.  I believe this lipstick is less than $10.

2016_02_12_22_26_52_IMG_1528.JPG_Photos.png

FullSizeRender_4
Siren in Scarlet, Ruby Woo, Russian Red

I hope you enjoyed this post 🙂 I would be interested to know what are your favorite red lipsticks… let me know in the comments! xo

2 thoughts on “Top Red Lipsticks

Leave a Reply

